Time in Queensland (Australia)

Speedup Your Computer - Click Here

What is the Time in Queensland in Australia

The current local time in Queensland in Australia is being displayed live in the analog clock above. At this time Queensland maintains a Zone Time of UTC+10:00 hours. Currently, Queensland does not use DST or Day Light Saving time unlike other parts of Australia and therefore the time in Queensland remains at UTC+10:00 hours AEST or Australian Eastern Standard Time throughtout the year.

Area, Population and GDP at this Time in Queensland

At this time the total area of Queensland in Australia is 1,852,642 square kilometers which is the second largest in Australia areawise. Out of this area the land covers, 1,730,620 square kilometers and water covers 121,991 square kilometers (roughly 6.6%). At this time in Queensland, as on Mar 2016 the population figure stands at about 4,827,000 people which brings Queensland to the third position population wise in Australia. The population density in Queensland Australia thus works out to be 2.8 people per suqare kilometer which is the fifth position in the whole of Australia. In 1901, the population in Queensland was merely 498,000 which grew to about 1,318,000 by 1954. By 2001 the population was standing at 3,628, 946 and by 2011 the population grew to 4,516,200 and in 2016 the population figures of Queensland stands at  4,827,000 . The Gross State Product as estimated in 2014-15 is US Dollar 313,889 (third position in Australia) with a per capita of US Dollar 62,498 (fifth position in Australia).

More About Queensland

Queensland is the third most populated state in Australia. Queensland also happens to be the second largest state in Australia. Queensland is famous for its Sapphire gem stone, Cooktown Orchid Flower, Koala Animal, Brolga Bird, Barrier Reef Anemonefish and Maroon colours. The Coral Sea and Pacific Ocean covers its eastern border. The Northern Territory is to its west, South Australia to the South west and New South Wales is on the Southern border of Queensland. Brisbane is the largest City and the Capital of Queensland which lies on co-ordinates 23oS 143oE. Brisbane also happens to be the third largest City in Australia. Amazingly Queensland is refered as the Sunshine State and it is also home to 10 out of the 30 largest cities in the whole of Australia.

History of Queensland Australia

The first person to land on Queensland and Australia  was the Dutch Navigator Willem Janszoon way back in 1606 who actually explored the western coast of the Cape York Peninsula which is near the present day Weipa. Lieutenant James Cook in 1770 claimed the eastern coast of Australia for the Kingdom of Great Britan. In 1788 New South Wales which at that time included Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania, was founded  by then Governor at Sydney. However, the Penal  Colony at Brisbane was established much later in 1824.

Climate at this Time in Queensland

At this time in Queensland in Australia, there is a large varied type of climate experienced purely because of the large size of the state. The inland and western parts of Queensland experience hot humid Summers and low rain fall rates whereas the far North experience a wet monsoon type season. The coastal areas of Queensland however experience warm temperate conditions, thanks to the influence of warm ocean water currents moderating out all the extreme temperatues to a pleasent temperaturers and adequate rainfall. And in the elevated areas in the south east inlands of Queensland experience cold temperatures often below freezing temperatures in the mid of winters. Severe tropical cyclones can often impact the coast and cause large scale damages including flooding due to incessant rainfalls.. The highest recorded maximum temperatures in Queensland was 49.5o C or 121.1 oF on 24 Dec 1972 and in 2003, the NASA Aqua Satellite (Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectrodiometer) (MODIS) measured a ground temperature of 69.3o C or 156.7o F which is the highest in the world.

Tourism at this Time in Queensland

At this time in Queensland in Australia is called the Sunshine State because of its warm tropical climate boosting Tourism in the state and at this time in Queensland, Tourism is the Third major industry in Australia. Each year millions of interstate and international tourists visit  the Sunshine State and the industry is able to generate over 4 billion US Dollars annually which accounts for over 4.5% of the Queensland GSP or Gross State Product. The beautiful serene landscapes ranging from sunny tropical coastal areas, lush rain forests to the inland dry areas and temperate high land of Queensland attracts the tourists. Major tourists attracton are Brisbane, Cairns, Port Douglas, the Daintree Rainforests, The Great Barrier Reef, Harvey Bay, Gold Coast, Townsville, North Stradbroke Island, Magnetic Island, Fraser Island, and the South Stradbroke Island, Sunshine Coast, Daydream Island, the Hamilton Island and the Whitsundays known for its Airlie Beach and White heaven Beaches. One can go to heritage listed Draintree Rainforests and the Barrier Reef through Cairns which is the Gateway to these. The Gold Coast of Queensland is also sometimes referred to as the Australia's Theme Park Capital where the Dreamworld, Movie World, Sea World, Wet "n" Wild and the White Water World etc exist. Then on the Gold Coast exists the Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary at Currumbin and David Fleay Wild life Park at Burleigh Heads. The Sunshine Coast has the Under water World at Moolooaba and the Australia Zoo exists at Beerwah Glass House Mountains. Queensland thus is a wonderful place to visit for any tourist.

Government at this Time in Queensland

At that time in Queensland, the Government is a Self Governing government under the Monarch and has a Governor, with a Legislature with Parliament of Queensland. On 06 Jun 1859 Queen Victoria signed Letters Patent to form the Separate colony called Queensland breaking it from the state of New South Wales. On 1860 the first Governor of Queensland came in and on 22 May 1860 the first Queensland election was held. and a Premier of Queensland also was established. Queensland also became the first Australian Colony to establish its own Parliament rather than being under the Crown. The executive authority is with the Governor who represents the Crown. The Governor advices the Crown and a Premier is elected who actually is the one with the support of majority of the Legislative Assembly. The Queensland has a Unicameral Parliament. The Federal representation of Queensland is 30 seats out of 150 in the House and with 12 Senate Seats out of 76. The local government in towns and districts can however manage their own affairs. There are 73 local government areas which may be called Cities, Towns, Shires or Regions each of which will have a council which is responsible for providing a range of public services and utilities.

Languages at this Time in Queensland

The Official language at this time in Queensland is English. However, the Aboriginals are thought to have been in Queensland starting from 50,000 BC. They came in via boat or land bridge across Torres Strait and they got divided into about 90 groups each of which developed their own languages.

Why is it named Queensland?

Queensland in Australia was named in the honour of Queen Victoria on the 06 Jun 1859. The Queen of United Kingdom signed Letters Patent on this day separating the colony from New South Wales. Thus 06 Jun is now a days celebrated annually throughout the state as Queensland Day.