Time in Angola (Africa)

What is the Time in Angola

The current local time in Angola is runing on the analog clock above live. Angola is located in the northern Africa. At this time in Angola the zone time is UTC+1:00 hour or in other words one hour ahead of the UTC (Coordinated Universal Time). At this time Angola does not use DST or Daylight Saving Time. Hence, the entire year, the time in Angola is UTC+1:00 hours. At this time the capital of Angola is Luanda which is situated in  latitude of 08084'N and longitude of 13028'E.

Area, Population and GDP at this Time in Angola

At this time in Angola the total area is 1,246,700 square kilometers making it the seventh largest country in Africa and 23rd in the world. Angola has hardly any area covered with water at all. The 2014 Census of Angola found 24,383,301 people resideing with a population density of 15 people per square kilometer which stands at 199th position in the world. There are a few Ethnic groups of population at this time in Angola namely, 36% Ovimbundu, 24% Ambundu, 13% Bakongo, 22% other African, 2% Mestico, 1% Chinese and about 1% European ethnic groups. The GDP (PPP) at this time in Angola in 2016 is estimated as $194.1 billion standing at 64st position in the world with per capita at $7,500 which is standing at 107th position in the world currently. The nominal GDP however is $98.8 billion with per capita of $3,820.

Climate at this Time in Angola

At this time in Angola, the climate is made up of three seasons. The first season is completely dry weather starting from the month of May and lasts till October or almost half the year. The month of November onwards till January the season changes to some rain and then starting from the month of February a hot and rainy season is seen till April.  This climate cycle is seen repeating every year.

Tourism at this Time in Angola

At this time in Angola, Tourism is based purely on the natural beauty of the country with its many rivers, waterfalls and scenic coastline. Tourism industry at this time in Angola is relatively new as the civil war ended only in 2002. Further, the Angolan governmant has a complicated visa requirements with official letter of invitation, documents stating your purpose of travel, travel itinerary copy, proof of funds etc all of which have to be sent back to Luanda for approval. The tourism attraction in Angola are its Cameia National Park, Cangandala national Park, Iona National Park, Mupa National Park and Angolan coastline.

Government at this Time in Angola

At this time in Angola, the government is Unitary Presidential Republic with a President and a Vice President. The legislature of Angola is called the National Assembly. Angola got independence form the Portugal on 11 Nov 1975. Post independence in November 1975, a devastating civil war was experienced by Angola lasting for many decades with some peace in between them. The civil war produced a lot of refugees and costed millions of lives lost in the guerrilla groups war till 2002.

At this time in Angola, the government motto is Virtus Unita Fortior which is a latin phrase meaning Virtue is stronger when united. The government at this time in Angola has three branches namely the executive, legislative and judicial. The executive branch has the President, Vice President and the Council of Ministers. The legislative branch comprises of 220 seat unicameral legislatures elected from both the provincial as well as the constituencies nation wide. The political power is concentrated in the presidency in Angola making it a sort of Authoritarian government. The legal system however is based on the Portuguese and customary laws which is weak and fragmented with the couts operating only in 12 out of the total 140 municipalities. There are Governors in 18 provinces who are appointed by the President.

The government even at this time in Angola is a little more authoritarian than it is democratic in spite of all the international pressures. The new constitution of 2010 proves it, as there will be no election for Presidential post in the future. The President and the Vice President of the political party that wins the parliamentary elections will become the President and Vice President of Angola automatically . The Armed Forces of Angola, called the AAF or Angolan Armed Forces is headed by a Chief of Staff who reports directly to the Minister of Defense. The combined manpower of the Angolan Army called Exercito, Navy called Marinha de Guerra or MGA and Airforce called Forca Aerea Nacional or FAN is about 110,000 people. The FAN equipment are mostly Russian manufactured planes like fighters, bombers and transport aircraft.

Languages at this Time in Angola

The Official language at this time in Angola is Portuguese which was introduced during the Portuguese colonial era. Other indigenous languages of Angola are Umbundu, Kimbundu and Kikongo languages. With increasing number of people using Portuguese the other Africal languages are steadily reducing and might become extinct because, even in the rural areas people are speaking only in Portuguese which is a new trend that has started. At this time in Angola, over 71% people speak Portuguese, 23% speak Kimbundu, 13% speak Bakongo,7.8% people speak Kimbundu, 6.5% people speak Chokwe, 3.4% people speak Nhaneca, 3.1% speak Nganguela, 2.4% people speak Fiote, 2.3$ people speak Kwanhama, 2.1% speak Muhumbi, 1% speak Luvale and 3.6% people speak other languages.

Why is it named Angola?

Angola is the world's 23rd largest country. The name Angola was derived from the phrase Reino de Angola which means "Land of Ndongo", from the Portuguese colonial name which erroneously derived a toponym from the Mbundu title ngola a kiluanje "conquering ngola", which is a priestly title originally meaning a "chief smith" which eventually meant the "king" held by Ndambi a Ngola in Portuguese it is Dambi Angola as lord of Ndongo, which happens to be a state in the highlands between the Kwanza and Lukala Rivers at this time in Angola. Angola has 18 provinces with 162 municipalities and 559 communes or townships under them. The name of the provinces of Angola are Bengo, Benguella, Bie, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige and Zaire.